Four prestigious awards at eWater CRC’s 2009 staff conference

Tuesday 24 February 2009

Inaugural awards for ‘Student of the Year’, ‘Best Published Paper’, and ‘Team of the Year’ were presented last week at the eWater CRC annual staff conference.

These were in addition to the annual presentation of the eWater CRC Chairman’s Award (see next story).

Alice Brown, Maria Greer and Dr Wendy Welsh received the eWater Team of the Year award, ‘for their exceptional efforts in research and stakeholder engagement in support of the new ‘River Manager’ modelling tool’. Alice, and Wendy, both of CSIRO Land & Water, Canberra, and Maria, of Queensland Natural Resources & Water, Dubbo, lead aspects of the ‘River Manager’ development work. Wendy was at the dinner and collected the framed certificate on behalf of the team.

River Manager is one of eWater’s highest profile software tools. It is a new national river-modelling platform which is being built in a joint initiative supported by the National Water Commission and the Commonwealth Department of Environment, Water, Heritage & the Arts, as well as state and territory governments across eastern Australia and eWater partners including the Murray-Darling Basin Authority.

eWater Student of the Year, Evan Harrison, who is a candidate for a PhD at University of Canberra with eWater CRC, received his award for ‘exceptional scientific research, stakeholder communications, and contributions to the eWater CRC community’. It happened to be Evan’s birthday that day as well!

The equally prestigious award for Best Published Paper 2009 went to a group of nine authors* led by Professor Richard Norris of University of Canberra and eWater CRC, for their for their nationally and internationally-recognised paper: ‘Very broad-scale assessment of human impacts on river condition’. The paper distils the essence of the team’s work with the CRC for Freshwater Ecology (a forerunner of eWater CRC), in devising a way to assess river condition across the whole of the populated area of Australia. This was undertaken for the National Land and Water Resources Audit in 2001.

In presenting the awards, eWater Chairman Dr Don Blackmore AM congratulated all the winners and thanked them for the expertise and enthusiasm they give to their work, particularly in support of the water research and management objectives of eWater CRC and its 47 partners.

*Richard Norris, Simon Linke, Ian Prosser, William Young, Peter Liston, Nicholas Bauer, Nerida Sloane, Fiona Dyer & Martin Thoms. (2007) Very broad-scale assessment of human impacts on river condition. Freshwater Biology 52: 959-976.

wr?wodata=-6341312946344216050 wr?wodata=1138874844583657509

For more information, please contact:

Name: Gareth Lloyd
Phone: 02 6201 2293
Fax: 02 6201 5038
Email: [email protected]