Hamish Butler

Hamish has close to 20 years’ experience working in the Queensland public service largely in natural resource and environmental management roles.

He is currently in the role of Executive Director, South Region for the Department of Regional Development, Manufacturing and Water responsible for the sustainable management of Queensland’s water resources.

Hamish’s career has been largely focused on regional service delivery, working to improve services and outcomes for Queensland communities. Hamish brings to the board strong experience in science and evidence-based water planning, compliance, and program implementation, as well as being an experienced leader with a passion for building technical and leadership capacity in the Queensland public service.

Mitchell Isaacs

Mitchell Isaacs has worked in water related roles in the NSW Government since 2009 and from November 2020 as the Chief Knowledge Officer, Water Group, in the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment.

Prior to joining the NSW Government, Mitchell worked as a research scientist in Australia and Japan, and as a project management advisor to the Cambodian Government’s Fisheries Administration.

Mitchell also serves as the NSW Commissioner on the NSW-Qld Border Rivers Commission.

Dr Grace Mitchell

With 25 years’ experience in water resource management, spanning research, policy and planning, and senior executive leadership, Grace brings a wealth of knowledge to the eWater Limited Board.

Grace has led numerous high-profile, complex, multi-disciplinary initiatives that have required significant stakeholder engagement and negotiation within and between state and federal governments.

With a PhD in Environmental Engineering from Monash University, Dr Mitchell has a proven track record in delivering complex policy initiatives and program outcomes, which will benefit the eWater Limited Board and eWater’s government owners, customers, stakeholders, and clients.

Dr Mitchell has been recognised with a number of awards, including an Australia Day Achievement Medallion from the Bureau of Meteorology, and Early Research Career Excellence Award from the Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand to name a few.

Kathryn Silvester

Kathryn has dedicated her career and time in identifying opportunities to achieve better outcomes for whatever organisations she works with and create change for the betterment of people and planet.

Kathryn brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the eWater Board including her work at the Sydney Water Corporation as Resilience and Climate Changer Adaptation Manager, where she is leading complex programs of work to support Sydney Water. As System and Asset Planner at Sydney Water, she also integrated the planning of water/wastewater services to sustainably improve liveability for the growing population of Sydney.

Kathryn is a passionate water professional and has been a member of the International Water Association and Australia Water Association strategic councils, providing advice to their Boards of Directors.

Kathryn was recognised as the youngest International Water Association Fellows in 2020 and awarded the AWA’s Australian Young Water Professional of the Year in 2016 for her impact on the water sector.

Greg Claydon

Greg has extensive experience within the water industry as well as natural resources management knowledge and expertise, both in Australia and internationally.

He has been recognised at state, national, and international levels for his work in water and associated national resources reforms, in whole of river basins planning and management, and in integrated urban water management.

Greg has been responsible for leading and managing the development of, and providing expert advice about, strategic water policy, water related legislation, whole of basin water resource allocation and management plans, regional and urban water supply strategies, drought and flood response strategies, water infrastructure plans, water information and knowledge strategies and water quality improvement plans, and made significant contributions to national, trans-boundary and international water policies and programs.

Greg has held many board memberships including the Murray-Darling Basin Commission, CRC for Water Sensitive Cities, International Water Centre, COAG Water Reform Committee.

Greg’s extensive experience within the water industry led to him being awarded the Public Service Medal in the Australia Day Honours in 2009, on recognition of his outstanding public service in natural resources and water management.

Deb Brown

Deb Brown is the Executive Director, Catchment Waterways Cities and Towns in the Water and Catchments Group of DELWP.

Deb is a trusted and respected water leader with over 20 years’ experience within the public sector. She has broad expertise across water resource management from strategic policy, planning to ‘on the ground’ management.

Deb has specialised in urban water management and conservation, environment and river health improvement, and more recently in improving Traditional Owner inclusion in water management.

In 2020, Deb was awarded the Victorian Water Professional of the Year

Murray Rankin

Murray founded The Distillery Software in 1997 and, as Chief Executive Officer, grew it to 130 staff globally with operations in Australia, the United States, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, Africa and Asia.

He has won numerous national business awards including the Telstra Small Business of The Year. He is an occasional lecturer in business strategy at the Australian National University, Macquarie University and Melbourne Business School. Murray is a director and chair of numerous boards of innovative Australian companies and also sits on a number of government boards as a technology adviser. Murray was awarded an Australia Day Medal for achievements in the national security and intelligence sector.

Chair, Connexxion Business Solutions
Director, Simplexiti International Holding Pty Ltd
Director, New Intelligence
Director, Avatar Green Energy Pty Ltd

Bob McMullan

Bob McMullan represented the Australian Capital Territory in the Australian Senate from 1989 to 1996, resigning from the Senate to represent the ACT as a Member of the House of Representatives (1996-2010).

Bob held several ministerial positions, including the Minister of Arts (1993-94), Minister of Trade (1994-96) and Parliamentary Secretary for International Development Assistance (2007-10).

Since leaving parliament, Bob has been involved in a range of activities, with a focus on international development. Bob’s previous positions include Director of the ANU Crawford Leadership Forum, Board Member for the Crawford Fund and Foundation for Development Cooperation and Executive/Alternate Director for the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.